Well, turns out it is kind of hard to do just about any exercise with a sprained wrist. Despite this, I still gave my best (and forgot the rest) today in my workout. The required routine was a combination of arm and shoulder exercises that pretty much all required the use of dumbbells. To make it easier on the injury, I used the lightest pair of dumbbells I have (15 lbs). Surprisingly, the pain wasn’t too bad. I realize that most medical professionals would shake their heads at me exerting this kind of effort so soon, but what can I say? I’m bull-headed.

I have to say that I very much liked this workout. I never have been the kind of guy to sit there in the gym by the mirror and do concentration curls. I’ve always thought of these exercises as less than functional and purely for “vanity muscles” opting instead to do barbell exercises (e.g., dead lifts) and assume that my arms were good enough. Tony (the head p90x honcho, finally figured out his name) agrees with me that these are vanity muscles, but he also seems to structure the workout in ways that make these moves seem functional. And of course, the problem with my logic regarding other exercises is that when multiple muscles are involved in the exercise (especially if the legs are involved) the stronger muscles will pull more weight. Which is probably why the bottom half of my body looks like it belongs to an NFL athlete, while the top half looks like it belongs to kid in pee-wee football.

Now for some side notes about this particular workout. I like that on each video Tony uses different background folks. If it were the same people over and over, it might get pretty boring. This time one of the guys actually looked just like Tony. In fact, this guy was wearing a p90x tank top that is similar to what Tony usually wears (Tony was just wearing a plain gray tank top). It threw me for a loop early in the routine and Tony mentions it a couple of times later, suggesting to me that he might have done it on purpose. That trickster…

I like the program so far. It is keeping me motivated (though writing about it everyday is also pretty motivating). I like having a challenge first thing in the morning everyday. It gives me some extra incentive to get out of bed. I’m also starting to notice that I am having less trouble remembering important details, but I am not going to chock that up to the program just yet. It could be just that I am more aware of my sleep and my nutritional intake. More thoughts to come tomorrow.

**************

Sleep: I think I got close to 7 hours, probably 6 if we are talking uninterrupted.

Supplements: 2 fish oil, 1 multivitamin, 1 protein shake

Breakfast: Multi-grain cheerios, skim milk, 1 medium banana, 2 slices whole wheat toast with natural peanut butter

Snack: Missed the food portion, only diet dr. pepper

Lunch: Toasted ham and cheese sandwich (dry, no butter involved), small to medium apple

Snack: string cheese, slices of ham

Dinner: Healthy version of fettuccine Alfredo with plenty of veggies, crystal lite.

Snack: 1.5 Monster cookies (I know, so bad, but so good)

